

# North Bay Village STVRs FAQ

## • What is a Short Term Vacation Rental (STVR)?

Any individually- or collectively- owned single- or multi-family house or dwelling unit, which
is rented to guests more than three times in a calendar year for periods of less than 30 days
or one calendar month, whichever is less, or which is advertised or held out to the public as
a place regularly rented to guests.

# Are SVTRs allowed in North Bay Village?

Yes. In order to use your property as an STVR you would first need to obtain a license from the Village. This license would require obtaining supplementary licenses from Miami-Dade County, and the State of Florida. These licenses need to be renewed every year.

## • Does the property need to pass an inspection to obtain an STVR license?

Yes. The Village requires safety equipment such as smoke detectors, fire extinguisher, a working land line etc. Additionally, these properties are inspected on an annual basis to ensure compliance with the safety requirements.

## How many guests are allowed to stay in an STVR?

 North Bay Village code allows for (2) guests per bedroom, with a maximum of (10) guests max occupancy.

#### • What are the fines for Operating an STVR without a License?

o Properties in violation are subject to the following fines:

First offense: \$1,000.00 fineSecond offense: \$2,000.00 fine

• Third or subsequent offenses: \$5,000.00 fine

## • Can an STVR be revoked, or denied?

 Yes. An STVR application can be denied if the property does not meet the licensing requirements, or has been cited for operating illegally. Licensed properties can have their license revoked, or if the property becomes a nuisance, and adversely affects the health, safety, and welfare of the Village.

#### Why does the Village license STVRs?

o The State of Florida Legislature has passed legislation to allow local governments to regulate STVRs. However, a municipality cannot "prohibit" a property to operate as an STVR, if they have met the local requirements.

#### Who can apply for a STVR License?

Property owners and long-term renters are allowed to apply for an STVR license.
 Renters/Property managers must certify and provide verification that they have the permission of their landlord to operate as an STVR.

#### How are STVRs being enforced or regulated in NBV?

o NBV Code Enforcement and Police Department are proactive in enforcing and monitoring all documented legal/illegal STVR properties during their daily shifts. The Village has recently obtained software that assists in identifying properties operating without a license, and has assisted in the prosecution of many properties in a short time.

If you have any questions on STVRs, please call 305-756-7171 or email code@nbvillage.com